Happy 100th Post To Me

This is my 100th post on My Orange Chair (yay achievement!). I thought that this might be one of the most relevant times to talk a bit about my experience with MOC, the good and the bad (though really mostly good).

My Orange Chair started out as a way to keep my mind active through the slog of the job search. Let me tell you, trolling for jobs is zero fun and more than that, it’s hard, mentally – it’s so easy to feel defeated. This blog really helped me to vent about these challenges and also reach out to some fellow job-searches and share the tips I was finding. Since I first started I have gotten comments from acquaintances of yore and new internet friends. How cool is that? Anyone who tells you that blogging will help you expand your network is RIGHT, like me, because I’m right, especially about this. Also, I used the fact that I’d started and kept with MOC in a cover letter…and actually got called for an interview ! Clearly it was because of the Chair.

What is also so cool is how MOC has transformed, not only in content, but in followers. ┬áMost of my readers now have jobs so job-search posts are far less relevant. But career development, and money – well these are pretty much always relevant. So now I have this great medium to talk about the career challenges (like relating across generations, communicating with co-workers, finding new work, staying sane) and the money challenges (student loans, credit cards, balancing fun with savings) that so many of us face.

There was a brief time (in between job #1 and #2) where I felt I couldn’t or maybe just didn’t want to share what was going on. It was a pretty stressful time and frankly I wasn’t interested in talking about jobs or job searches. My Orange Chair has helped me realize that it can be tricky and dangerous to share too much of yourself online, especially if you’re going to talk about JOBS (because we seem to live in a culture that still isn’t okay talking about $$, professional development for youth, and transitions). But I think, given the new turn of events, that I can say I’m back on the blogging horse for the foreseeable future.

This is an exciting time to say that I have invited a few people to share their own career stories and advice on My Orange Chair. Starting pretty soon, our first guest will share her stories so please be supportive and leave comments and get in touch if you want to write too (ehem…Big Sister, #1 Son …)

Thank you for all of your support and smart alec-y comments.

And may there be 100 more posts on My Orange Chair!

 

One thought on “Happy 100th Post To Me

Leave a Reply

