Going Abroad

For two years now I have worked with an organization that places foreign students from all over the world with American families for a year. This year I am working with one girl who has been here for about a week and already feels like giving up. She says it is a flaw in her character – that she is not homesick, but just doesn’t feel like this is an experience that will give her anything. 

I imagine that at that age, it’s really hard to see past the immediate problems. If it’s hard it’s hard, if it’s easy it’s easy and there’s no middle ground. 
I tried to share with her how I felt when I was in Ghana. There were many times where I felt lonely, hot, and anxious. There wasn’t always much to do, school wasn’t particularly challenging — traveling was the only thing that made me really happy and it wasn’t feasible to do that on my own so I had to rely on other people’s schedules. Halfway through my semester, I came down with malaria and it was awful, absolutely awful. When I break down my experiences like that, I can think of times when I was unhappy and I can think about everything I didn’t like. In fact, there was a time, immediately after the malaria when I wanted to come home and nearly did. But when someone asks me, “How did you like studying abroad in Ghana” my immediate reaction is, I loved it! I would do it again in a heartbeat! 

 I made friends with whom I will have a life-long connection.

I went on amazing adventures, some of them a little dangerous. 
And I learned a great deal about another culture and another side of the globe. When someone talks about Ghana, or West Africa, my ears perk up and I pay attention. I feel inexorably connected to that part of the world. 
I hope that this student who is feeling so overwhelmed will stick it out and be able to look back on her experiences instead of going home early and regretting it. 
Leave a Reply

