Being Interviewed

For the first time ever, I was informational interviewed, on the other end of the table, trying to spout wisdom and make connections. But I felt a little useless. Having just come out of graduate school and just found myself a job, I have a limited set of resources that I obviously hope to grow! And as much as I would LOVE to help connect someone else, my circles don’t reach that far (nationally, globally, cross generation-ally).

So this means that I mostly know youth who are still in internships, still looking for jobs, or are recently employed at entry level positions like me. One way to rectify this is by joining a group like the Young Nonprofit Professionals Network (YNPN).

YNPN  promotes an efficient, viable, and inclusive nonprofit sector that supports the growth, learning, and development of young professionals. We engage and support future nonprofit and community leaders through professional development, networking and social opportunities designed for young people involved in the nonprofit community (YNPN).

YNPN has local chapters throughout the U.S. and you can find your local chapter here. I am a member of YNPNdc but I have to admit, I am not a particularly active member. That is mostly because of the whole, not living in DC thing, and partially because I have been lazy. But this interview experience made me realize I have the potential to be a better resource if I do some more networking myself and continue to put myself out there (like I said I would over here).

So I might not be the best person to informational interview YET but if you’re looking for entry level positions in women’s health or global health in Baltimore, DC, or New York, I might be a decent resource!

 

Leave a Reply

